Moonee Valley Cricket Club


Mark Gauci's our Club champion



Moonee Valley stalwart Mark Gauci walked away with the Club Champion trophy for his exploits with bat and ball in the First Eleven when the main performances were announced at the Club’s presentation night on April 29.

Mark GauciMark, (left) who took over the captaincy of the Firsts following some personnel changes mid-year, made 308 runs at 38.5 and took 17 wickets at 20.9.

He polled 666 votes to win from star import Arosha Perera on 490.

Mark, who was also named one of Moonee Valley Cricket Club’s five Wisden cricketers of the year, wasn’t the only one honoured at the night, held at Club sponsors the North Suburban Sports Club.

Joe Ansaldo’s 200 games and his contribution to the Club was rewarded with Life Membership, while Junior Co-ordinator Graeme “Charlie” Walker won the Lindsay Jones Best Clubman award for the fourth time in five seasons.

More than 70 players, partners and guests attended the gala night.

Ben Thomas, who finished in the top three in the Moreland-Moonee Valley Cricket Association’s B Mats batting and best player awards, was the runaway winner of our Moonee Valley Award, for players from the Seconds to the Sevenths.

Ben polled 633 votes from his stellar season, which included two centuries and 422 runs at 46.9, to win from Sixths captain Steven Ball, with 521 votes.

The batting averages winners were Arosha Perera in the Firsts (353 runs @ 44.1); Dean Jukic in the Seconds (267 runs @ 26.7); Ben Thomas in the Thirds (291 runs @ 58.2); Steven Bonfa in the Fifths (226 runs @ 22.6); Steven Ball in the Sixths (265 runs @ 33.1) and Matt Gauci in the Sevenths (209 runs @ 69.7).

Bowling average winners were Geoff Smith in the Firsts (20 wickets @ 20.5); Dean Jukic in the Seconds (15 wickets @ 10.1); Murray Walker in the Thirds (20 wickets @ 11.4); Steven Ball in the Sixths (17 wickets @ 27.8) and Paul Comino in the Sevenths (16 wickets @ 21.1).

Fielding award winners were Geoff McKeown (Firsts); Justin Willee (Seconds); Danny Terzini (Thirds); Paul Hedjes (Fourths); Liam Brown (Fifths); Shane Comino (Sixths) and William Lai (Sevenths).

Milestone achievers who were honoured on the night with trophies were Peter Smith and Paul Comino (50 games); Danny Terzini (150 games); Joe Ansaldo and John Talone (200 games) and Ian Denny with his club-record 250 games.

Steven Ball, Jesse Felle, Heath Jones, Dean Jukic and Murray Walker achieved the coveted 50-wicket milestones, and Jim Polonidis and Mark Schuliga received awards for 150 wickets.

Ian Denny’s great season of 356 runs for once out got him past the 9000 runs mark, while other batsmen to reach significant milestones were Sandro Capocchi (5000 runs) and Jim Polonidis and Shane Williams (2000 runs).

Century-makers to receive awards were Mark Gauci, Arosha Perera, Ben Thomas (twice), Ian Denny and Matt Gauci.

Best bowling performances of the season were also rewarded with trophies – Geoff Smith with 7/31 and Rajat Sharma with 7/41.

As well as Mark Gauci, our other four Wisden Cricketers of the Year were Ben Thomas, Steven Ball, Nick Kritharidis and Dean Jukic.

*All the details for the season are contained in the excellent Wisden compiled and edited by Jim Polonidis, which will shortly be posted on our website.






May 4, 2006
Category: Archived News

  Our Sponsors

Number of visits to this site
    Nelson Alexander    

Contact Us |  Privacy
© Copyright Moonee Valley Cricket Club All Rights Reserved
Web Development by SiteSuite
charlie's firewood