Moonee Valley Cricket Club


Juniors - our First Year 96/97


Our First Year - 1996/97

Moonee Valley first took to the field with juniors in the 1996/97 season, with one Under 10 side and one Under 12 side.

Some of the boys who made their debut for Moonee Valley in that season are now established senior players at the Club, having played their way up through the grades.

Here's our Under 12 team from that first season.

We haven't yet located an Under 10 team from our debut year. Anyone who has a photo should contact Charlie Walker on 9370 1802 or at and we will be pleased to add it to the website.

1996-97 Under 12s 520pix

Moonee Valley's debut year Under 12s, 1996/97.
L-R: Back - Daniel Ayers, Shane Frenette, Aaron McHutchison, coach Chris Ayers, Franco Romano,
Tim Fisher, Michael Cooney, coach Danny Terzini, Luke Ryan.
Front row - Robbie Ryan, Marc Robilliard, Joey Reitano, Murray Walker, James Clarke.
At front - Brendan Maguire. (22/2/97).

Moonee Valley's Under 16s - 2001/02
We've tracked our Under 12s from our debut year five years forward, to when they made the Grand Final in the Under 16s.

Many of the faces are the same, as the debut year squad played on together through the seasons.

At the same time, as the junior Club grew, more boys joined in and are now established senior players.
2001-02 Under 16s 520 pix

Moonee Valley's Under 16s, 2001/02 at Ormond Park, Moonee Ponds (9/3/02).
L-R: Back - Julian Madigan, Tim Fisher, Robbie Ryan, Sam Wellard, Damian Horne, Matt Thomas,
Michael Cooney, Jesse Felle, Daniel Ayers.
Front - James Clarke, co-captain Joe Reitano, co-captain Murray Walker, Jeff Lewis,
Bobby Panyanouvong.

Under 14 Grand Final 2001/02 with our Under 14s  U14GFinal2001-02 - 520pix

We had three teams in junior Grand Finals in the 2001/02 season - but neither the Under 16s, Under 14s or Under 12s were able to go the next step and take the flag.

Coach Phill King has found this photo of his Under 14 charges at the Grand Final. Even though they didn't win, they did us proud.

From left are: Coach Phill King, Kane Horne, Liam Brown, Nigel Walker, Tom McInnes, Tom King (back), Morgan Cumming, Jesse Nankivell-Sandor and Matt Cheligoy. At front are Sean Sturrock and Kelvin Lai.



June 29, 2006
Category: Photo Gallery

  Our Sponsors

Number of visits to this site
    Nelson Alexander    

Contact Us |  Privacy
© Copyright Moonee Valley Cricket Club All Rights Reserved
Web Development by SiteSuite
charlie's firewood