Moonee Valley Cricket Club


Twenty20 - our 2007/08 campaign


Twenty20 - our 2007/08 campaign
07-08MMVCAtwenty20 520 pix

Our Moonee Valley Twenty20 team, who played a hard-fought game against the West Coburg First Eleven team. L-R: Back - captain Wayne Nicol, Lalith Buddhadasa, Sunny Sharma, Tom King, Murray Walker, Jesse Felle, Prateek Chaudhary, Bob Sciacchitano, Arosha Perera. Front - Dan Terzini, Jeff Nicol, Greg Nicol. 
Moonee Valley bowed out in the first round of the Moreland Moonee Valley Twenty 20 competition at Ormond Park on January 15.

It was a fine effort by the Valleys, given the tough eligibility requirements determined by the MMVCA. This meant that the Moonee Valley team was predominantly picked from our Thirds, Fourths, Fifths and one-day teams, and was up against a full-strength West Coburg.

Despite this, West Coburg took until the 16th over to score 5/112 and pass our 109. Moonee Valley's effort was built on a fine 46 by Thirds captain Sunny Sharma, and three wickets by Thirds/Seconds player Prateek Chaudhary. It was an effort to be proud of. 

And Moonee Valley came up just a fraction short in the NWCA Twenty20 Grand Final at Taylors Lakes on January 8.

After posting a total of 120 batting first, the Valleys took the result down to the wire before being overhauled in the final over.

Our appearance in the Grand Final againt Taylors Lakes followed three big wins in the knockout rounds and semi final.

In the NWCA Semi, on the Ormond Park synthetic on Tuesday, December 11, we cracked up a magnificent 4/234 against Clarkefield, on the back of an imperious 125 from Arosha Perera off just 51 balls. We then bundled Clarkefield out for 108, on the back of a four-wicket haul from Tom King.

Moonee Valley's first match in the competition was a comfortable win over Buckley Park on the Ormond Park turf on Tuesday, November 13. 

We then doubled up with a good win against Sydenham-Hillside at their ground on Tuesday, November 27. Moonee Valley made 7/174 off our 20 overs, with Arosha Perera belting 74, Geoff McKeown 34 and Matt Thomas 33no.

Sydenham was then bundled out for 116 within 16 overs, with Dan Bailey taking four wickets and Daniel Phillips two.



January 30, 2008
Category: Archived News

  Our Sponsors

Number of visits to this site
    Nelson Alexander    

Contact Us |  Privacy
© Copyright Moonee Valley Cricket Club All Rights Reserved
Web Development by SiteSuite
charlie's firewood